Peace Corps?

Come as you are, as you were, as I want you to be; As a friend, as a friend, as an old enemy. Take your time, hurry up, the choice is yours, don’t be late. Take a rest as a friend, as an old memoria, Memoria, memoria, memoria, memoria -Kurt Cobain

Hm. This is my first step into the cyber world. I mean, I already have a facebook, a twitter, and an instagram, so maybe not my first step, but it’s my first step into an anonymous cyber world. I doubt anyone will actually ever read this, and if you do, you have no idea who I am. Whew, what a relief, right? In a world of minifeeds, tweets, comments, and tagging, being unknown- just a blip in the big ‘ol internet universe is like a breath of fresh air. I can talk about my goals, dreams, and deepest aspirations without fear of anyone’s judgment albeit good or bad.

Well, let me introduce myself, blogosphere (that’s what it’s called, right? I don’t know the cool lingo yet. I’m still new to blogging :x). I’m 20 years old and currently in my 3rd undergraduate year at the University of Florida. God willing, one day, I’ll attend medical school, meet the man of dreams, buy a Ferrari and live in a mansion in South Beach (haha) But, in all seriousness, I hope that I am a sincerely honest, and just an all around good doctor. I hope that people can trust me with their lives and all I can promise is that I’ll try my absolute hardest to do everything I can to help. But before I embark upon that journey, there is something I’ve always wanted to do- mission work. Not necessarily Christian mission work, but any kind of work to help other people. That’s been my dream since before I can remember and that’s what made me stumble upon the Peace Corps.

I honestly don’t remember when this crazy idea to apply to the Peace Corps sprouted in my head, but it’s there and it sure as hell isn’t going away. So, I’m doing my research– I’m reading all the blogs, calling the local recruiters, and getting in contact with any RPCVs who want to talk to me. I’ve heard so many stories- good and bad, and what I’ve learned is that I still want to join the Peace Corps, but I no longer view it as mission work. I want to join the Peace Corps to learn. I want to learn about culture. I want to learn language and how people live in a world I’m not at all used to. I want to learn what life is like for someone else and in turn, maybe I’ll teach someone about my culture, about my language, and about the life I am familiar with. How arrogant is it to think that just because I am from the U.S., I have the power to advise someone in India, Eastern Europe, Africa, South or Central America how to live their life– a life that I know absolutely nothing about?! So, I’m humbling myself, I’m shutting up, and more than that, I’m hoping that I will both learn and teach from this experience. I haven’t finished my application, hell, I’m not even sure if I’m going to submit it. All I know is, no matter where life takes me, I’m looking forward to when it’s time for me to stay quiet and listen, and when it’s time for me to speak up.

:)

Leave a Reply

