Medical School

Image

So, it finally happened. I got into Ross University Medical School in Dominica. I know it may not be ideal to most people, but it is med school and I’m actually really excited about it.

For the 2 people who follow my blog (and I’m fairly certain you’re actually spam), you probably know that my dream for a while was to join the Peace Corps. In fact, my name shaypc = Shay PC = Shay Peace Corps! (It does not mean that I like PCs over Macs. I remain neutral in that war, though I am the proud owner of an iPhone 5 which my awesome brother purchased for me last November.) But I kind of see going to the island as my own little Peace Corps adventure. I know it is most certainly not the same thing as I expect to be hunkered down in my apartment/library studying all day in med school, but it has a similar unexpected, journey feel to it.

The Peace Corps was my dream and I may grow up and regret that I never joined one day, but for now, for today, I am happy. I just got off the phone with my dad and he was so genuinely proud that I got into med school that it makes all of this worth it. My dad has given me everything I could have ever wanted and more than that. Growing up, I never felt that I couldn’t have something because I knew my parents could provide for me and they did. And more than just monetary things, my parents supported me in every aspect of my life and now its my turn to give back to them. I would love to take a couple years off and join the Peace Corps and travel the world, but realistically, is that fair? When I get through this, and become a doctor, if my dream truly is to help people then it’s going to happen. I will make it happen, but for now, I’ll make another dream of mine come true. A dream that would make my parents exceptionally happy– and that’s me going to med school. I want to be a doctor more than anything. I love being in the hospital and talking to patients, and I love science and health– I really and genuinely want to be a doctor.

When everything happened with Anish, I was so mad and I kept thinking that he was supposed to grow up and supposed to get married and he was supposed to have kids and he was supposed to do all these things with his life. But then I realized we’re not supposed to do anything– we’re not guaranteed anything in life. Every day is a blessing. Every day is an adventure that has just been handed to us. We make plans for tomorrow and for the future when we don’t really know if we’ll even get to see tomorrow. I spend so much time thinking about the life I hope to have someday and I forget about the life I actually do have today. I am so grateful for my family and my friends. I am so grateful that I got to see all of today and I’m going to get in my bed, close my eyes, and hopefully wake up to see all of tomorrow.

And hopefully on January 6, 2014- 98 days away- I will embark on this crazy, new journey in my life. I will start med school. I am both excited and nervous and so honored to have this privilege. I never thought I’d be going to school in the Caribbean, but it looks like that’s the plan. It’s crazy how life works out– how things twist and turn and just flat out change- and you just walk through the twists and the turns, but that’s exactly how life should be. I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect life. Thank you to God, to life, to karma, to coincidence, to science, to energy, to whatever made this happen. I truly am not deserving of such a blessed life.

I guess I’m going to med school in 3 months. Crazy, huh?

Leave a Reply

