I Know Who Holds Tomorrow

Growing up, I was such a strong Christian. As I grew older, my faith shifted and I began to see the world in a different light. Today, I don’t know how religious I am, but I don’t think I can ever not believe in God.

When tragedy strikes, those left behind are left searching for answers when they are just nowhere to be found. I don’t understand why so many young people I know are dying. I don’t know why “God is calling them home” or whatever it is everyone is saying. All I know is that we’re left behind struggling to cope with the loss, struggling to reason why these things happen. All I know is that people who should have had their entire lives ahead of them were taken from this Earth too soon.

In times like this, all we can do is lean on God or whatever you believe in and take power in knowing that sometimes there just aren’t any answers. Sometimes, things just happen that we can’t control. There is something bigger than us, something we can’t see, something we can’t understand, but something that I hope will all make sense one day. But today, we struggle to carry on as we clutch onto that hope.

God, if you’re out there, I don’t know why these things happen. I don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow. I don’t know if I’ll wake up or where I’ll go. I put my trust in you, in this beautiful, mysterious, confusing Earth you created. I put my trust in the family and in the friends you gave me.

I don’t know about tomorrow;
I just live from day to day.
I don’t borrow from its sunshine
For its skies may turn to grey…

Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand.

To the four young men who passed away, I hope you find peace. I hope you knew how loved you guys really were. I wish you guys could see how our community is coming together for you and your families. Though you no longer walk this Earth with us, your friends and your family will carry your spirit and you will live on through them. Rest in paradise.

Leave a Reply

