23

Michael-Jordan-Quotes-40-1024x640

Today is my 23rd birthday.

I have everything I need, I have love, I am loved. What more could I ever ask for in this life? I will, forever, be eternally grateful for how lucky I am. I don’t know what life will bring me tomorrow and I have few regrets about yesterday, but today- today, life has brought me joy and life has brought me peace. I am so excited to see what’s in store for the years to come.

I’m learning to have courage, to let myself be vulnerable, to not care so much about what people think or say about me, and I’m learning who I am. I guess that is what your 20’s are for? I’ve made a lot of stupid mistakes, but I’d rather make those mistakes than pretend that I am this perfect person. There was a lot of growing up and change in 22, but for the first time in life I feel like I’m going somewhere– not in circles and I sure as hell hope it’s forward, but it’s somewhere different and I’m excited for this journey I’m living again.

As you get older, you start to see the world differently. You see all the things that you said you would do when you were younger and you realize that maybe, you won’t get to accomplish all those dreams. You see all the things everyone around you is doing, and you wonder why you’re not as accomplished, well-travelled, in love, etc. You see all these opportunities that were once open start to fade away as you shape and mold the direction of your life. Your journey is your own. Your experiences and opportunities are your own. “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” Stop believing you’re not worth it, that you’re not good enough or smart enough, because things get so much better when you just give yourself a chance.

Happy Jordan Year! Great things are to come.

One thought on “23

Leave a Reply

