Moving on

I used to believe it was a total cop out when people in relationships broke up and subsequently, deleted every iota of that person from their social media. It was as if the time together never happened. That moment was blip-cut out- of their life and we can move on like it never existed. Mind you, I’m still curios about what happens when you go on vacation together? Is the solution to always take two pictures– 1 couple one and another solo one so you can keep at least one memory of that moment? That seems quite morbid and pessimistic and I’m not sure I’d like to be inovolved with someone thinking like that.

Anyway, now that I’m a lowly medical school drop out, I don’t know what to do with all of my past med school posts. I put my school and education section on private because I wasn’t committed enough to completely delete that part of my life. It happened. It sucked when I left on so many different levels, but it was also, at times, wonderful. I made amazing friends and grew up more than I ever have in my life. How can I just delete that? But alas, I have a picture of me in white coat on my Instagram and people from my new school want to follow me on that media. I haven’t accepted any of those followers, because do I keep the picture and accept them? Do I delete it and accept them? While I don’t want that part of my life to be deleted, I also don’t want it revealed in my professional life.

So to all those I cast my burdensome judgment upon for deleting posts, you have my humble apology. I get it. You don’t want your new significant other thinking about you and your ex. You’ve moved on and just because you’re deleting a picture on Facebook doesn’t mean you’re deleting it from your life.

Side bar: Is this another reason to finally be rid of our “social media” lives?

I digress, I still don’t know what I want to do exactly, so those requests will sit there. I love my SGU white coat. I failed and that is on me in every single way. I’ve learned and I’ve grown and I’ve moved on. But that doesn’t mean I’m ready to let it go completely. How do you move on in the social media generation?

Side bar Pt II: What does it say about me that I experienced a break up with a school and not an actual person at 24 years old? Gah, gotta get back on Tinder. Just kidding. Never. Again. Call me when theres a tinder to make friends and not STDs.

Peace and Love. Go make the world better (YOU, SHAY, I’M TALKING TO YOU. GET OFF YOUR ASS AND FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, DO SOMETHING GOOD!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

