Life Decisions

Life Decisions

Time for an update!

I recently found out that I was also accepted into SGU Medical School in Grenada as well! They are considering me for the Legacy of Excellence Scholarship which I sincerely hope I receive. Ross University granted me the Dean’s Scholarship so I hope I get something from SGU as well.

SGU is much more expensive than Ross, but the school is more prestigious and ranked higher which will help when applying for residencies in 4 years and the island itself is far nicer than Dominca (or so I’ve heard).

My D.O. application was also just verified and I received 2 secondaries so far for D.O. schools in Arizona and Missouri. I know this sounds terrible and I may totally and completely regret this in 4 years time when I’m trying to get matched for a residency, but I don’t think I am going to submit the secondaries. The mature, logical side of me knows that D.O. would be the safest and smartest route, but there is also a part of me that wants to go to the islands to have that experience. When else am I going to have the opportunity to live on a tropical island for 2 years of my life?! I am young and single and living on Grenada sounds like it would be such an amazing and exciting adventure. I know I wouldn’t be able to get to truly experience the island since I’ll be working my ass off in med school, studying every moment, and making sure I kill the USMLE, but it still sounds like such a crazy and amazing experience. I understand I’ll carry the stigma of attending a Caribbean med school with me for the rest of my life, but I’ll also carry the experience of living on my own on a beautiful island as well..

I have a lot of decisions to make as SGU and Ross need my final decision by Oct. 18th. Time to buckle down and figure out what I’m going to do…

3 thoughts on “Life Decisions

      • i liked it! It was pretty easy to navigate and the food was so good!! I don’t know if you’ve travelled to any other Caribbean islands, but it was pretty similar to St. Maarten and St. Thomas as far as look and feel goes. It wasn’t anything too new for me, so I wasn’t in any culture shock and didn’t feel too foreign.

Leave a comment